Different types of Cataracts

There exists three different types of cataracts, one is defined by its different locations on the lense.

Nuclear Cataracts

A formation on the lens nucleus, is one of the most common cataracts. An opacity develops in the central section lens-central nucleus,

Nuclear cataracts disturbs the individual’s ability to see images clearly when some distance away, the condition is related ageing (over age 70)

Nuclear cataracts are very slow developers often giving a yellow tint in the nucleus.

Cortical cataracts

Start at the outer rim to the lens gradually extending to the centre core. This particular type of cataract look rather similar in appearance to that on the spokes to be found on a wheel. The effects are problem with glare, or a kind of “halo” effect surrounding lights/illumination.

Subcapsular cataracts

In contrast to slow developing nuclear cataracts Subcapsular cataracts develop really, very quickly. Indeed within a few months already reached an advance stage.

Posterior Subcapsular cataracts

Posterior Subcapsular cataracts attack the back part of the lens. Thus causing glare, and blurriness effects. This particular condition is possibly related diabetes, near sightedness, and/or retinitis pigmentosa, as well as some people who take steroid medications.

Congenital cataracts

Are inherent and usually present from birth, or can develop in childhood. Congenital cataracts can be Nuclear, Cortical, or subcapsular types. Thoughts are these conditions are can be that the mother contracted an infection during pregnancy, or to an inherited genetic condition. In the child’s formative years it imperative the condition is diagnosed and treated ASAP. As clear vision is imperative to a child’s eye and brain development. It is possible for a person to have more than one of these conditions simultaneously.





Leave a reply